Fellowship President’s Night 2016

You are here

The Fellowship’s annual President’s Night returned to 8 Northumberland Avenue in London on Monday 18th April for a glamorous evening to celebrate their special 70 year anniversary.

After a drinks reception, guests were invited to take their seat in the stunning Great Hall where President Bruno Marc took to the stage to welcome everyone. Bruno kicked off the night by stating, “Tonight is all about celebrating 70 years of The Fellowship for British Hairdressing” before introducing Patron of Honour Ann Herman for a few words about her involvement with The Fellowship.

Ann reflected on why she is so proud to be one of the “early members” before concluding with “of course there are people like me whose working life has been extended by being involved with The Fellowship and to be honest, I wouldn’t have had half the fun I have without it. Thank you all”.

It was then an opportunity for guests to be treated to ‘hair through the decades’ by seven industry icons. The room was alight as each icon began their presentation with a short VT of what The Fellowship means to them, before they showcased individual decades of hair.

Past F.A.M.E. Team member Jamie Stevens started proceedings with his 1940’s inspired look, with Gary France next up for his take on 1950’s hair. Following these two experts was Tracey Devine Smith with the swinging 60s and Akin Konizi presented the 70s. It was Daniel McCourt, on behalf of Mark Hayes, that was given the 80s to present before last year’s Fellowship Hairdresser of The Year Guy Kremer showcased his looks of the 90s. It was Past President and Brand Ambassador Errol Douglas MBE who closed the show with his hair inspired by the 00s.

After a fantastic array of stunning hair, guests enjoyed their starter and main course carefully chosen by Bruno Marc and Hellen Ward. Bruno Marc then returned to the stage to reflect on his involvement with The Fellowship. During his speech Bruno spoke fondly of Past Presidents and how they have impacted positively on the future of this extraordinary organisation. It was also a chance for Bruno to thank all those who have contributed and offered their support over the years.

Bruno went on to introduce Chairman Hellen Ward who looked back on her Chairmanship and looked to the future. Hellen spoke of how great it feels to give something back and the importance of inspiring the next generation. It was a chance to hear the plans for the future and also an opportunity for Hellen to thank those who she has worked closely with over her two year term. After a chance to enjoy dessert, HABB President David Drew was welcomed by Bruno to the stage as he conveyed his gratitude for the continued support from The Fellowships towards the industry charity. It was a real celebration of HABB and a short VT demonstrated the positive impact being involved can have on individuals and their teams. President’s Night was the perfect setting for awarding those who have made a real difference to others, with David Drew awarding the following whilst on stage:

Ella Johnson – Jayne Henderson Award

David Lambert – President’s Award 2016

Herbert Howe – The Humanitarian Award 2016

The positivity continued with Bruno introducing Edward Hemmings for the announcement of the Step Up & Shine Scholarship. The Christofer Mann Step Up & Shine Scholarship in association with The National Hairdressers Federation has continued to be a huge success and offers the winner a bespoke education package worth over £2,500. It is a wonderful opportunity and Edward Hemmings had the wonderful task of announcing this year’s winner - Evangeline Barrett of Blondz Hair in Weymouth.

The evening was a fabulous way to really reflect on what makes The Fellowship so special and it was a fitting celebration for such a special anniversary. Bruno concluded the night with his thanks to all guests and support as The Fellowship looks to the future.

Related Articles